Sean T. Higgins, Esq.

Of Counsel

Mr. Higgins is a member of the firm’s Administrative, Gaming, & Governmental Affairs Departments. He primarily practices in the areas of licensing and regulatory law, gaming, governmental affairs, and corporate transactional work.

Mr. Higgins’ regularly appears before the Clark County Commission, Las Vegas City Council and before other state regulatory boards and commissions and local government bodies on various administrative law, land use and zoning, issues. He also represents clients in front of Nevada Gaming Commission and Gaming Control Board for licensing and other matters. Mr. Higgins lobbies at the Nevada State Legislature and the US Congress on behalf of clients. Representative clients include: Golden Entertainment; Republic Services; VanTrust; MV Transit; Monaco Properties; Affinity Gaming; amongst others.

Prior to joining Black & LoBello, Mr. Higgins was a partner in the law firm of Gordon Silver from 2010 thru 2015. He also served as the managing director of the firm’s government affairs arm, Porter Gordon Silver Communication. Previously to that Sean served as Executive Vice President - General Counsel for Herbst Gaming, Inc., a multi-jurisdictional gaming company; and Terrible Herbst, Inc., Nevada’s largest retail petroleum supplier and convenience store operator, from 1993-2010. His duties involved regular interaction with the Nevada Gaming Control Board and Commission, Clark County Commission and various local municipal governments throughout Nevada, as well as, federal agencies.

Mr. Sean Higgins received his law degree from Santa Clara University School of Law and his undergraduate degree from Southern Methodist University.


Practice Areas

Professional and Civic Affiliations

    • International Association of Gaming Advisors
    • American Bar Association, Member
    • Clark County Bar Association, Member
    • Nevada Equal Rights Commission, Commissioner
    • State of Nevada Problem Gambling Advisory Committee, Former Member
    • State of Nevada Gaming Policy Committee, Former Member